HISTORY OF DODGE COUNTY. Mrs. Wilton Philip Cobb.



Orig. pub. Atlanta 1932. Reprinted 1979, 1983, 1993. xiii, 296 pp., illus., new index. Item #26
ISBN: 9780871522931

Dodge County was created in 1870 from land districts in Telfair, Laurens, Wilkinson, Montgomery, and Pulaski counties, with the county seat established at Eastman. This readable account of Dodge County begins with a brief look at the early history of the territory. A list of the county's first citizens, early marriages (1871-1889), and wills (1878-1901) gives names of early settlers. Fifty-seven pages of family records of "some pioneers and their descendants" give genealogical information on over fifty families including: Bishop, Bowen, Brown, Burch, Burnham, Campbell, Clark, Coffee, Coleman, Cooper, Cravey, Daniel, DeLacey, Dowdy, Edwards, Evans, Giddens, Hamilton, Harrell, Hargrove, Hendley, Humphreys, Jessup, Jones, Law, Livingston, Lowery, Maloy, McCranie, Mizell, Moore, Mullis, Parkerson, Peacock, Phillips, Rawlins, Reaves, Rogers, Rozar, Ryals, Walker, Willcox, Williams, Williamson and Wynne. A comprehensive name and subject index was prepared for this reprint edition.

Price: $30.00

See all items in County Histories, Georgia
See all items by